Spanish Portuguese Agreement

Although the agreements of the Treaty of Tordesillas resolved differences in the Atlantic, they also fuelled other difficulties. In the early 1510s, the Portuguese set foot on the Maluku archipelago, which was an area of carnation cultivation. The Spaniards questioned their right to settle there, the Treaty of Tordesillas having divided the Earth into two hemispheres and that the archipelago was in its part. In the years that followed, there were skirmishes against the Portuguese and Spaniards around the possession of the Moluccas, as it was impossible to determine the Antimedian corresponding to that of Tordesillas. The Maluku dispute was finally resolved by the Treaty of Zaragoza (22 April 1529), signed by John III of Portugal and Charles V. It provided for the establishment of a demarcation line that would pass through 297.5 leagues east of the Moluccas, recognized as Portuguese. In the end, the Portuguese hemisphere was about 187 degrees and the Spanish was 173 degrees, a virtually equal division into two half-spheres. After further research, the Portuguese were unhappy with the deal when they realized how many more countries had been given to Spain. In June 1494, the line was renegotiated and the agreement was officially ratified at a meeting in the Spanish city of Tordesillas. .

. .